Page Nav




Classic Header


Top Ad

Advertise Here

Breaking News:


Adama Barrow: Political Prisoners Among Gambian New Ministers

Gambia’s President Adama Barrow has sworn-in 10 cabinet ministers in the capital Banjul.  Among them are political prisoners during exile...

Gambia’s President Adama Barrow has sworn-in 10 cabinet ministers in the capital Banjul. 

Among them are political prisoners during exiled former President Yahya Jammeh’s regime including leader of the main opposition United Democratic Party (UDP) Ousainou Darboe, Omar Jallow and women’s right activist Dr Isatou Touray. 

Darboe, who is now the Foreign Affairs Minister was arrested in April 2016 for protesting against the death of a detained party member and was released together with 18 other opposition members immediately after the election of Adama Barrow.
Adama Barrow

“Gambians have been liberated from the tyranny of Yahya Jammeh and we are ready to serve the country efficiently without bias nor nepotism,” Darboe told the media after the swearing-in. The Finance and Economic Minister Amadou Sanneh had been serving a five-year jail term in the past three years for a sedition conviction until Monday when he was pardoned.

Leader of the opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) and now Agriculture Minister Omar Jallow has also been arrested several times by Jammeh’s security forces while the first female presidential candidate and now Trade Minister Dr Isatou Touray spent some time in prison in 2010.

The other appointed ministers have been equally critical of Yahya Jammeh’s government. The spokesperson of the coalition government, Halifa Sallah said at a press conference on Tuesday that ministers with dual citizenship will not be appointed as well as those released from prison without pardon.

He mentioned that there will be eleven out of eighteen appointments on Monday but only ten cabinet ministers were sworn-in.

Below are the ten sworn-in cabinet minister of The Gambia.
  • Ousainou Darboe – Foreign Affairs Minister
  • Hamat Bah – Tourism and Culture Minister
  • Omar Jallow – Agriculture Minister
  • Mai Ahmad Fatty – Interior Minister
  • Henry Gomez – Youth and Sports Minister
  • Lamin M. Dibba – Forestry and Climate Change Minister
  • Dr Isatou Touray – Trade Minister
  • Amadou Sanneh – Finance and Economic Affairs Minister
  • James Gomez – Fisheries, Water Resources and National Assembly Matters Minister
  • Lamin N. Dibba – Lands and Regional Government Minister. - Online Sources 

Tinzwei Is A Worth Voyage For Those In Pursuit For Up-To-Date World Events.

Read More At The Online Coronavirus Portal Or Use The 24-Hour Public Hotline:
South Africa: 0800 029 999 or just Send Hie to 0600 123 456 on WhatsApp

No comments